What is the european union?

The European Union is an economic and political union of 27 Members. The European Union originated with the Maastricht Treaty signed by the European Community, which entered into force on 1 March 1993. The EU Member States have a combined population of almost 450 million and an area of 4,324,782 km². The population density in the EU is 115.6 inhabitants / km². If the EU were a state, it would be the seventh and third most populous in the world.


European Parliament

The European Parliament is an important forum for political debate and decision-making at EU level. The citizens of the Member States directly elect, by means of a vote, the Members of the European Parliament to represent their interests in the EU legislative process and to ensure the democratic functioning of other Institutions of the Union.

European Commission

The European Commission is the EU’s politically independent executive arm. It is alone responsible for drawing up proposals for new European legislation, and it implements the decisions of the European Parliament and the Council of the EU.

European Council

The European Council brings together EU leaders to set the EU’s political agenda. It represents the highest level of political cooperation between EU countries.

Council of the  EU

In the Council of the EU, government ministers from each EU country meet to discuss, amend and adopt legislation and coordinate policies. Each minister is empowered to make commitments on behalf of his Government in relation to the actions agreed upon at the meetings.

Court of justice of the EU

The Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) interprets EU law to make sure it is applied in the same way in all EU countries, and settles legal disputes between national governments and EU institutions.  meetings.